Discover Your Love Language

Discover Your Love Language

Did you know that August is officially Romance Awareness Month? And while we’re big advocates on everything lustful and erotic, we’re even more pumped to educate you on how to show the one you care for just how much you love them.

For that reason, we’re going to introduce you to the famous five love languages. If you haven’t heard of them before, we’re sure you’re going to learn a lot about yourself and your partner! Exciting, right?

So, basically, the five love languages is a concept that was created by Gary Chapman, an author, pastor, and radio talk show host. His book, called The Five Love Languages, has been sold millions of times over and has been a best seller for years. 

So, according to Chapman, there are five love languages in the world. Every person has one that they primarily identify with, while some also identify with a secondary. 

And once this love language has been identified, it makes relationships work better, more smoothly and encourages partners to do things for each other that they know their other half will really appreciate.

What Are the Five Love Languages?

The five love languages, in no particular order, are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

To understand them even better, let’s take a look at each one, in detail:

1. Words of Affirmation

If this is your love language, you’re the type of person who likes to hear words of kindness, appreciation, endearment, and love. This could be anything from, “I love you” to a heartfelt note from someone thanking you for something.

 In other words, it can be verbal or written words of affirmation. 

2. Acts of Service

If this is your love language, you really appreciate it when someone does something thoughtful for you, such as a chore around the house or an errand. 

Perhaps you’ve had a bad or busy day and all you feel like doing is relaxing. Basically, should your partner ask you, “Is there anything I can do for you?” you’ll be in heaven.

3. Receiving Gifts

This love language need not be associated with grand and expensive gestures, but it is the gesture nonetheless. 

If you really love different kinds of tea, for example, and your partner buys you a new flavour that they know you’ll love, that is them treating you according to your love language.

Alternatively, you could have your eye on something rather saucy for the bedroom, perhaps a couples toy? They could surprise you with a sleek pleasure product, and you two could enjoy it together! Or maybe a solo sex toy that they could watch you enjoying!

4. Quality Time

While every day life is usually fast-paced, filled with technological devices and online relationships, those who identify with this love language really appreciate one-on-one uninterrupted face time with their partner. 

This involves one’s undivided attention, no phones, TV, or other things that’ll take the attention away from spending quality time together. In this way, a person feels special and validated.

5. Physical Touch

If this is your love language, you feel your best when your partner shows you affection. This could be in the form of a hug, a cuddle, a kiss, or even something sexual, like trying new things in the bedroom or doing something intimate that they like.

This love language doesn’t always need to be sexual in nature, but it could be, depending on the person and circumstances. To these individuals, they recognize love through these different forms of physical touch. 

Have you identified your love language? And what about your partner's? If you’re still on the fence about your other half, why not ask them a few questions like:

  • “What makes you feel loved or special?”
  • “Do you like it when I …?”

  • When you do finally find out what their love language is, you can definitely make them feel more appreciated, which is always a bonus. Not to mention the fact that romantic events like Valentine’s Day or an anniversary will be even more love-filled than before!

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published